top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace Hennessy

Healthy Peppermint Mocha

Updated: Mar 30, 2020

If you know me you know I'm most likely seen sipping on an iced coffee. I used to be a psycho and was able to drink my iced coffee black, but those days are far gone and I'm more of a 2:1 milk and flavoring to coffee ratio type of girl. For the past couple of years, my go-to combination for coffee was iced coffee, vanilla or plain collagen, and some type of dairy-free milk, but that's changed. There's nothing wrong with the combination and I still love it, but I'm more into experimenting with my coffee now. Last year and summer I got more into developing flavored lattes to mock my favorite coffee shop drinks and come up with some unique lattes like maple fig walnut.

I know peppermint mocha isn't a groundbreaking flavor for an iced latte, and it's a little out of season as it's March, but this one always hits the spot in my book.

Ingredients

  • 1/2-1 cup cold brew

  • 2 tbsp cacao powder

  • 5-10 mint leaves

  • 1/2-1 cup milk of choice (I used oat)

  • Optional: 1 tbsp dark chocolate chips + 1 tsp avocado oil

Recipe

  1. If you're extra like me and want the chocolate rim you're going to need to melt some dark chocolate chips first. I took 1 tbsp dark chocolate chips and mixed them with 1 tsp avocado oil. Then I microwaved that combination in increments of 30 seconds, removing and stirring each time until the chocolate was melted. Watch it so it doesn't burn! Then I took my mason jar and dipped the rim in melted chocolate until it was coated evenly. I then stuck my mason jar in the freezer (on top of a towel in case the chocolate dripped too much) and let the chocolate harden up. I placed ice on the bottom of the jar and didn't take it out until I was ready to pour my drink so the chocolate didn't melt and so my drink was extra icy.

  2. OKAY. Now for the coffee! Take your mint leaves, cacao powder, and milk of choice and add them to a blender. Blend them until everything is smooth.

  3. Pour your mint chocolate milk mixture into your mason jar, then pour your coffee over it, then add more milk to taste. Stir to mix coffee and milk together using a straw, spoon, etc. Enjoy!


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page